Donald J. Trump was elected President of the United States defeating Democrat Hillary Clinton in a hard-fought battle for country's highest elected office. There were upsets in local races in Ballinger which included races for BISD school board trustee and positions on the Ballinger City Council and the Ballinger Memorial Hospital Board.

Donald J. Trump was elected President of the United States defeating Democrat Hillary Clinton in a hard-fought battle for country's highest elected office. Trump became the nation's 45th president, defying the pundits and polls to the end, and defeated Hillary Clinton in Tuesday’s presidential election claiming an establishment-stunning victory that exposes the depth of voter dissatisfaction – and signals immense changes ahead for American policy at home and abroad, according to Fox News. Trump handily won the 38 electoral votes in Texas, with the overwhelming majority of Texas counties voting Republican. In the popular vote, Trump was victorious with 52.4 percent of the vote to Cllinton's 43.3 percent. In Runnels County more than half of the 6, 681 registered voters cast ballots for Republican candidates. Trump received 3,241 votes in Runnels County with Clinton receiving 452 votes. In the race for Ballinger City Council, former mayor and councilman Bob McDaniel received 66 votes to incumbent Jolene McBurney's 65 votes, however the outcome of that race is still pending due to eight provisional votes which have not been counted. In the SMD 4 race, incumbent Eloyed Fuentes won re-election with a majority of 125 votes, with challenger Landy Cason receiving 79 votes and Daniel Fisher Sr. receiving 95 votes. "I want to thank everyone who came out and voted. A big thank you to all who supported me with their encouraging words and votes. It is a privilege  to be able to to serve another term on city counsel for the town of Ballinger,"Fuentes said. "I look forward to getting to work and continue serving the people of this great little town in Texas."
For the Ballinger Independent School District Board of Trustees SMD 7 seat, incumbent Mike Riley was defeated by Cheryl Buchanan, with Riley receiving 109 votes to Buchanan's 131 votes. Buchanan thanked the voters following the election. "I am honored to have been chosen to serve on the school board. I appreciate and thank Mr. Riley for his dedication to Ballinger ISD," Buchanan said. "I would like to  thank everyone for their support and I will do my best for the students of Ballinger." There were four incumbents and one challenger running for four seats on the Ballinger Memorial Hospital District Board. The top four vote recipients won the seats on the board. Incumbents Ben Clayton received 926 votes, David Cowart received 822 votes, Deborah Mattingley received 704 votes and challenger Sandra Clack received 638 votes. Incumbent Brenda Joyce Waterfill received 548 votes and was defeated. Candidates for the hospital board thanked voters following the election. "I wish to thank everyone who voted and promise to represent their interests to the best of my ability; to strive for improvement in the services the hospital provides to the residents of the district," said Cowart. "I would like to thank the community for coming out to vote," Mattingley said. "We will continue our mission to provide the area with quality medical care."   Congressman Mike Conaway won re-election and in Runnels County he handily defeated his opponent Democrat Nichols Landholdt receiving 3,313 votes to Landholdt's 209. Other Runnels County results included the race for Railroad Commissioner in which Wayne Christian was the landslide winner with 3,011 votes. Democrat Grady Yarbrough received 459 votes,with Mark Miller receiving 115 and Martina Salinas receiving 65 votes. Final results showed that there were several upsets in Ballinger local elections. There were no local elections in Winters. All of the votes will be canvassed between Nov. 16-22, according to the Runnels County Election administrator. Detailed results of all the elections will be in the Nov. 17 edition of the Ballinger Ledger.For up to date results on the national election go to